An Explanation of Dr. Martin Luther’s Small Catechism

This section is under construction and has not yet been proofread.

Table of Contents

Explanation of Dr. Martin Luther's Small Catechism

  1. The Holy Bible

The First Chief Part: The Law

  1. God's Law
  2. The First Commandment
  3. The Second Commandment
  4. The Third Commandment
  5. The Fourth Commandment
  6. The Fifth Commandment
  7. The Sixth Commandment
  8. The Seventh Commandment
  9. The Eighth Commandment
  10. The Ninth Commandment
  11. The Tenth Commandment
  12. The Conclusion of the Law

The Second Chief Part: The Creed

  1. The Triune God
  2. God the Father – Creation
  3. God the Father – Providence
  4. God the Son
  5. God the Son – Redemption
  6. Redemption from All Enemies
  7. God the Son – Exaltation
  8. Christ's Threefold Office
  9. God the Holy Spirit
  10. Holy Spirit – Enlightenment
  11. The Holy Christian Church
  12. The Forgiveness of Sins
  13. The Resurrection and Eternal Life

The Third Chief Part: The Lord's Prayer

  1. Prayer
  2. Introduction and First Petition
  3. The Second and Third Petitions
  4. The Fourth and Fifth Petitions
  5. The Sixth and Seventh Petitions and Conclusion

The Fourth Chief Part: Baptism

  1. The Nature and Blessings of the Sacrament of Baptism
  2. The Power and Signficance of the Sacrament of Baptism

The Fifth Chief Part: The Office of the Keys and Confession

  1. The Office of the Keys and Confession

The Sixth Chief Part: The Lord's Supper

  1. The Nature and Benefits of the Sacrament of the Altar
  2. The Power of the Sacrament of the Altar and Its Proper Reception